The David Gemmell
Awards for Fantasy



Note to aspiring writers
It’s always good to hear from you, and I’m more than happy to answer your questions about the craft of writing and the publishing business if I can.  What I can’t do is undertake to read/critique your manuscript.  Nor can I help you find a publisher or agent.  Sorry, but if I said yes to the many requests I get I’d spend all my time reading your work and never doing my own.  The best advice I can offer if you want to be a writer is … write.  A lot.  And read copiously too, to learn from the way others do it. 
Good luck!


The winners of 2018’s David Gemmell Awards For Fantasy, as announced at our ceremony at Edge-Lit 7 on Saturday 14th July, are:

Legend Award (best novel): Assassin's Fate, Book 3 of Fitz and The Fool by Robin  
Hobb (HarperVoyager)

Morningstar Award (best fantasy debut): Kings of the Wyld, Book 1 of The Band by
Nicholas Eames (Orbit)

Ravenheart Award (best cover art/design): Richard Anderson for Kings of the Wyld
by Nicholas Eames Designed by Lisa Marie Pompilio (Orbit)

Stan & Anne Nicholls: hosting