The Nightshade Chronicles

The Nightshade Chronicles is a young adult fantasy trilogy published in the UK between 1996 and 1998 as part of Scholastic’s now defunct Point Fantasy imprint. It was inspired by my fascination with the idea of secret books - fabled tomes of ancient lore containing esoteric knowledge - and the plot centres on the search for a legendary grimoire. I was also interested in having a hero who had been maimed in battle; the story begins with protagonist Dalveen Leandor - Nightshade - losing his sword arm.

The books are currently out of print in Britain.

Volume One:
The Book of Shadows

From the publisher’s back copy:

“Nightshade was once the best warrior in Delgarvo. But defeat at the hands of the evil sorcerer Avoch-Dar has left him without his sword arm - a warrior deeply wounded.
“Now Avoch-Dar has returned and intends to lay waste to Delgarvo. Only Nightshade can stop him. But what use is a one-armed hero against such powerful enchantment?
“Then a prophecy is revealed. Only by recovering the fabled Book of Shadows can Nightshade defeat Avoch-Dar. To do otherwise is to court certain death … ”

Volume Two:
The Shadow of the Sorcerer

From the publisher’s back copy:

“The foul sorcerer Avoch-Dar has slipped through his pursuers’ grasp, taking the Book of Shadows with him. And once he has unlocked the Book’s mysteries, he will return to Delgarvo, invincible …
“No one but the mighty warrior Nightshade realises this danger. And with the Book gone, he feels more powerless than ever. But the sorcerer has left behind his enchanted crystal. Could this be the key to his own destruction? Nightshade is determined to find out - for the fate of all Delgarvo is at stake … ”


Scholastic/Point Fantasy
June 1996
Cover art: Paul Young

Scholastic/Point Fantasy
November 1997
Cover art: David Wyatt

Scholastic/Point Fantasy
February 1998
Cover art: David Wyatt

Volume Three:
A Gathering of Shadows

From the publisher’s back copy:

“Evil sorcerer Avoch-Dar is now at his capital, Vaynor. Surrounded by invulnerable demons and the Book of Shadows, he is hell-bent on destroying not only Delgarvo, but the rest of the world as well …
“Meanwhile, Nightshade is gathering forces for the final confrontation. Taking the battle to Avoch-Dar, Nightshade knows this is their only chance for peace. But there is one last hope - the fabled weapon Cat’s Claw. Nightshade must find it or evil darkness will reign on earth … forever.”

You can read sample chapters from The Book of Shadows here.



The Nightshade Chronicles was published in France by Bragelonne in 2003/04. 
The covers are by leading fantasy illustrator Didier Graffet.

First stage illustration

Second stage

Finished cover
Bragelonne, October 2003


Bragelonne, January 2004

Bragelonne, March 2004



Zona Limite/Ediciones Gaviota
June 1999

Zona Limite/Ediciones Gaviota
July 1999

A variant cover



Wydawnictwo RTW
July 1999